Why I Love Phish Shows: A Post Completely Unrelated to Phish Shows

I discovered the awesomeness of music way back in 2nd grade, which is roughly 2002-ish, I think. But I truly truly discovered the awesomeness of music in May of 2009, when I stumbled upon what would become my all time favorite band since the Beatles, who I had so adored in my youth. And once I listened to some of their more radio-friendly songs off of Limewire – Waste, Bouncing, Heavy Things – I became forever hooked. This led to the heavier jams – Weekapaug Groove, You Enjoy Myself, Divided Sky for starters – which just blew my mind. Not since my days as a Beatle-worshiping 2nd grader had I been so enraptured by… anything, really.

But on the subject of youth, here’s a random, completely unrelated thought: Isn’t it funny how the younger we are, the older we try to appear – we call ourselves however many years “old” in our youth, and always try to round up; for instance a 6 1/2 year old will proudly identify as such and not tolerate being labeled merely 6. But the older we grow, the younger we wish to seem – we facetiously refer to ourselves as however many years “young,” as many older people tend to do, and we try to round down; I once knew a lovely woman who told most people she was a year younger than she actually was. I’m sure that very same woman would have proudly touted the fact that she was 6 and 3/4, not even just 1/2, and God forbid not only 6 measly years old! Maybe (Definitely) I’m getting a bit carried away, but you get the point. Throughout life, viewpoints change – and drastically so.

We’re so eager to mature, to finally make it to the big leagues, to be grown up, as is the expression. But once we finally make it to that league we wish nothing more than to be sent right back down to the minors. With adulthood, and even with adolescence, comes responsibility. And once you have it, who needs it? Don’t we all yearn for the days when we had nap time after all our effort and toil was spent building blocks? Yes, those were the days. Their name: kindergarten. What a year that was, right? Hence, I can look back and say that the things that I had to deal with 12 years ago are so comparatively trivial compared to the things that trouble me now.

The thing is, everything is comparatively trivial when it’s already happened to you. The past always seems somehow magically better than the present. I complain incessantly about the unbearable stress of Junior year, the pressure to keep up my grades, ace the SAT, and get into the best damn college I can get into, or forever be deemed a complete and utter failure at life. Recently, I voiced such sentiments to my younger sister, and she reminded me of something very interesting: how much I voiced my complaints of my 6th-8th grade hardships to her, way back when. My father too reminds me that if he could spend a day in his teenage shoes, he would, without a doubt. I ask him, “Even with this wretched thing called the SAT and the looming pressure to succeed when the economy is still down the toilet?”And he doesn’t change his mind.

No matter what, life always seems to have been easier in the past, or appears that it will be so in the future.

As such, I think one of the most important goals in life is trying to enjoy the present as if we were looking back on it from a future date. I’m not getting all preachy – uch, God forbid – that was ironic – but it’s advice I would most certainly give to anyone who asked, and an idea which helps me get through a whole lot when the going gets tough. AKA, throughout my entire Junior year. Its very mention is shudder inducing.

Anyway, this really had nothing at all to do with Phish shows. To make a long story short, music is still a defining characteristic of my personality, Phish is really awesome, and I like their shows a lot because the band, the music, and the community are all in sync. They’re really the best. And that’s why I love Phish shows.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

